Wednesday, March 26, 2008

Reneriders! Roughagades! Whatever, football is (almost, kinda, in a way, possibly) back!

I like these guys. Jeff Hunt, the guy who made the 67s viable once again. Roger Greenberg of Minto, John Ruddy of Trinity Development, and William Shenkman of the Shenkman Corporation. Three of the guys with community ties and massively deep pockets. And Hunt, who is a guy with community ties and a terrific acumen running a sports team. This is tremendously exciting for me, and I think for most people in Ottawa. Football! Again! Maybe! Yes...there's a hold-up. As Randall said this morning, our city council is not competent enough to run a lemonade stand. So leaving a potential football team in the hands of this group is a scary proposition. They could very well bog down on the details of this thing. They could argue for the next seven years about how many bolts are to be used in the construction of the new stadium, and the seven years after that coming to a consensus on the number of nuts. I would suggest that we, the people, could come up with an appropriate number of nuts who should be on city council...zero. Randall suggested a bloodless coup this morning. I am in agreement, except perhaps the bloodless part.

It really si rich when Marianne Wilkinson and Maria McRae and Jan Harder, three of the Brazil Nuts in the mixed-nuts bowl that is our city council, call out the mayor as incompetent and suggest they would be willing to take over some of his duties. Not that I am defending the mayor here, he has his own problems and many of them, but this is tantamount to the pot calling the kettle black, or Louie Anderson calling John Goodman "fatso". But now we have to cross our fingers and hope. Hope that this council can get over themselves and speedily approve everything it takes to get us a football team. Hope that Clive Doucet and his Glebite cronies aren't able to hold up this proposal singlehandedly. Hope that many people are filled with confidence, the same confidence with which I am filled, in this new potential ownership group. And hope that whatever petty concerns and personal idiocies our councillors have are set aside for the time being in order to move on this football thing and make it happen.

Randall was right about one other thing this morning. The only way we can ensure this will happen is to talk to our city councillors. All of them. Or maybe yell at them, or slap them until they understand. And if you're against the return of football, as some in the city are, then do the same. Not that I really believe our city councillors hear what we say, or care what we say, but at the very least they care about being re-elected. And even the worst ones won't screw things up if they figure their spot on council is on the line. Here are the email addresses of Ottawa city council - be sure to write in capital letters so they know you are YELLING this at them.

Councillor Georges BédardWard 12 - Rideau-Vanier Tel: 613-580-2482 Fax: 613-580-2522 Georges.Bedard@ottawa.ca

Councillor Michel BellemareWard 11 - Beacon Hill-Cyrville Tel: 613-580-2481 Fax: 613-580-2521 Michel.Bellemare@ottawa.ca

Councillor Rainer Bloess Ward 2 - Innes Tel: 613-580-2472 Fax: 613-580-2512 Rainer.Bloess@ottawa.ca

Councillor Glenn BrooksWard 21 – Rideau-Goulbourn Tel: 613-580-2491 Fax: 613-580-2531 Glenn.Brooks@ottawa.ca

Councillor Rick ChiarelliWard 8 - College Tel: 613-580-2478 Fax: 613-580-2518 Rick.Chiarelli@ottawa.ca

Councillor Alex CullenWard 7 - Bay Tel: 613-580-2477 Fax: 613-580-2517 Alex.Cullen@ottawa.ca

Councillor Diane DeansWard 10 - Gloucester-Southgate Tel: 613-580-2480 Fax: 613-580-2520 Diane.Deans@ottawa.ca

Councillor Steve DesrochesWard 22 - Gloucester-South Nepean Tel: 613-580-2751 Fax: 613-580-2761 Steve.Desroches@ottawa.ca

Councillor Clive DoucetWard 17 - Capital Tel: 613-580-2487 Fax: 613-580-2527 Clive.Doucet@ottawa.ca

Councillor Eli El-ChantiryWard 5 - West Carleton-March Tel: 613-580-2475 Fax: 613-580-2515 Eli.El-Chantiry@ottawa.ca

Councillor Peggy FeltmateWard 23 - Kanata South Tel: 613-580-2752 Fax: 613-580-2762 Peggy.Feltmate@ottawa.ca

Councillor Jan HarderWard 3 - Barrhaven Tel: 613-580-2473 Fax: 613-580-2513 Jan.Harder@ottawa.ca

Councillor Diane HolmesWard 14 - Somerset Tel: 613-580-2484 Fax: 613-580-2524 Diane.Holmes@ottawa.ca

Councillor Peter HumeWard 18 - Alta Vista Tel: 613-580-2488 Fax: 613-580-2528 Peter.Hume@ottawa.ca

Councillor Gord HunterWard 9 - Knoxdale-Merivale Tel: 613-580-2479 Fax: 613-580-2519 Gord.Hunter@ottawa.ca

Councillor Rob JellettWard 19 - Cumberland Tel: 613-580-2489 Fax: 613-580-2697 Rob.Jellett@ottawa.ca

Councillor Christine LeadmanWard 15 - Kitchissippi Tel: 613-580-2485 Fax: 613-580-2525 Kitchissippi@ottawa.ca

Councillor Jacques LegendreWard 13 - Rideau-Rockcliffe Tel: 613-580-2483 Fax: 613-580-2523 Jacques.Legendre@ottawa.ca

Councillor Maria McRaeWard 16 - River Tel: 613-580-2486 Fax: 613-580-2526 Maria.Mcrae@ottawa.ca

Councillor Bob MonetteWard 1 - Orléans Tel: 613-580-2471 Fax: 613-580-2511 Bob.Monette@ottawa.ca

Councillor Shad QadriWard 6 – Stittsville-Kanata West Tel: 613-580-2476 Fax: 613-580-2516 Shad.Qadri@ottawa.ca

Councillor Doug ThompsonWard 20 - Osgoode Tel: 613-580-2490 Fax: 613-580-2530 Doug.Thompson@ottawa.ca

Councillor Marianne WilkinsonWard 4 - Kanata North Tel: 613-580-2474 Fax: 613-580-2514 Marianne.Wilkinson@ottawa.ca

3 comments:

  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm not against football, but enough already. How many times does someone have to try and get a team, only to end up losing it... again... and again... and again. It's like watching the movie Ground Hog Day, repeatedly.

    How is this going to be different than every other attempt to get a team?

    ReplyDelete
  3. Very true, in many ways. However, after the phone call we got yesterday, I'm left scratching my head. The guy was FURIOUS that we suggested Ottawa residents should want football. Which is fine - if you don't care, you don't care. But what I don't understand is the people who are so adamant about NOT having football here. Unless you live in the Glebe and you're worried about your precious noise bylaws and so forth, why would you actively try to prevent football from returning? If you don't care, don't go to the games! But why try to prevent the people who DO want football from having it? Bonkers, as far as I'm concerned.

    ReplyDelete